Parents

Bismillah. Recently, I’ve been spending a lot of time with my parents. I live in a city that is a 4-hr flight from where they live, so I see them every 3-4 months for 2-3 weeks. Time with them has made me realize that, subhan Allah, parents are a real blessing.

No person can ever love us like our parents do. Their love is biological, and thus it is so unconditional. Even Allah [SWT] swore by this amazing connection in the Quran in Surah Balad [90:3]. It’s a truly special bond. I remember a friend once saying, “You don’t know what love is until you’ve had your first child”.

We all know how much emphasis Allah [SWT] has placed on the outstanding treatment of parents. In fact, outstanding treatment of parents is one of the most beloved deeds to Allah [SWT]. But what is “outstanding treatment” of parents?

  • Prayer for Parents

The Prophet [SAWS] said: “A man’s status will be raised in Paradise, and he will ask, ‘How did I get here?’ He will be told, ‘By your son’s du’aa’s (prayers) for forgiveness for you.”

[Reported by Ibn Maajah]

14_41_ibrahim.gif

O our Lord! Cover (us) with Your Forgiveness – me, my parents, and (all) believers, on the Day that the Reckoning will be established!


[Ibrahim:41]

17_24.gif
My Lord! Bestow on them Your Mercy as they did bring me up when I was small.


[Al-Israa:24]

  • Phoning and visiting them regularly (if you don’t live with them)
  • Doing the little things that they love (e.g. making them tea)
  • Immediately responding to their call. No more “I’ll be there in a second!”
  • Smiling at them

Our relationship with them is special because Allah [SWT] chose them as our parents for us. Thus, obedience and outstanding treatment of parents is obedience to Allah [SWT].

We can never re-pay our parents because of the enormous sacrifices that they’ve made for us. But, we can do whatever little we can to make them happy. Most importantly, we must continue to make dua for them so that Allah [SWT] grants them Jannatul Firdaus.

3 thoughts on “Parents

  1. Narrated ‘Abdullah:

    I asked the Prophet “Which deed is the dearest to Allah?” He replied, “To offer the prayers at their early stated fixed times.” I asked, “What is the next (in goodness)?” He replied, “To be good and dutiful to your parents” I again asked, “What is the next (in goodness)?” He replied, ‘To participate in Jihad (religious fighting) in Allah’s cause.” ‘Abdullah added, “I asked only that much and if I had asked more, the Prophet would have told me more.”

    Bukhari

    So being dutiful to our parents is right up there with Jihad and Salah!

  2. Mothers are beings that are oriented on the Hereafter in this world. The reward they obtain through their role and employment in creation, the imbalance between the pains and trouble they go through, and how they are responded to in return make up the clearest evidence of this fact. There is no need for complicated research to comprehend this; a casual glance at what they sow and what they harvest throughout their entire lifetime, what they go through, and what they find in return suffices.

    JazzakAllah khair for the post.

    wasslam

  3. Jazakum Allahu khayran.

    There is another duaa in surah Ahqaaf, similar to the duaa that Sulayman alayhi salaam made that sort of relates:

    رَبِّ أَوْزِعْنِي أَنْ أَشْكُرَ نِعْمَتَكَ الَّتِي أَنْعَمْتَ عَلَيَّ وَعَلَىٰ وَالِدَيَّ
    “My Rabb! Grant me the power and ability that I may be grateful for Your Favor which You have bestowed upon me and upon my parents…(46:15)

    The amazing thing about “birr al waalidayn” is that Allah ta’ala did not define what IHSAAN to them is. Usually Allah azza wa jal gives us the definition or instruction on what we should do, but Allah ta’ala did not say X, Y and Z = ihsaan. The word birr actually means a vast piece of land with all types of herbage, so birr is not just one good deed, it’s all types of good deeds that lead to righteousness.

    Out of Allah’s Knowledge, Wisdom and Mercy, He told us the goal (ihsaan/birr al waalidayn) but leaves it up to us to figure out the means, because there are so many ways and each parent has different expectations. SubhanAllah.

Leave a Reply

