Q&A: Can I Make Up Sunnah Prayers?

Bismillah.

Question:

I missed my sunnah prayers because I was in a rush. Can I make them up later on just like we make up the obligatory prayers?

Answer:

Regular sunnah prayers are a way to Paradise and one of the most beloved actions to Allah [SWT] that we can do. So, it makes a lot of sense that it is preferred to make up the missed sunnah prayers.

According to Umm Salamah [RA], the Prophet [SAWS] prayed two rak’ahs after ‘Asr. He was asked about them and he said:

“O daughter of Abu Umayyah, you asked about the two rak’ahs after ‘Asr. That is because some people from ‘Abd al-Qays came to me and distracted me from the two rak’ahs that come after Zuhr; these are they (i.e., I prayed them just now).”

[Bukhaari and Muslim]

From this, we know that the Prophet [SAWS] would make up his missed sunnah prayers. He was busy with people after Zuhr, so missed his sunnahs but he remembered them and made sure that he completed them whenever he got the chance. This is what we should do too, in sha Allah.

A final point, there is a scholarly difference of opinion on whether we are allowed to pray voluntary prayers between Asr and Maghrib (after Asr salah). Both sides have their proofs, but its safe to say that its best to avoid the conflict and not pray after Asr (even though we know the Prophet [SAWS] did so from the above hadeeth). And Allah [SWT] knows best.

3 thoughts on “Q&A: Can I Make Up Sunnah Prayers?

  1. I remember studying that the sunnah prayers for the Prophet, salAllaahu alayhi wasallam were made obligatory, so he had to make them up if he missed them. I don’t know if making them up was something that was specific only to the Prophet salAllaahu alayhi wasallam?

  2. Yup, I’ve heard that too. There’s a variety of opinions on this I think, but WAllahu alam, the one that makes most sense to me is that you can make up sunnah prayers, but avoid praying them after Asr since there is an ikhtilaf there.

    WAllahu ta’ala alam.

  3. Assalamu alaykum ,sura kahf is a Great sura , loads of lessons for us all,and to read the tafseer helps us to understand and apprecite its full potential . I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN VERY FOND OF THIS SURA .THEREFORE LOOKING FORWARD TO THE FULL TAFSEER WITH ALL THE ROOT WORDS AND MEANINGS.JAZAK ALLAHU KHAIRAN FOR THE EFFORTS PUT IN.I AM REALY ENJOYING IT!!!WASSALAMU ALAYKUM

Leave a Reply

